Nov 16

Appointments to the new Venues NSW board

Monday 16 November 2020 9:23pm

A wealth of experience will ensure the new Venues NSW board is best equipped to strengthen NSW’s position as Australia’s number one destination for sports and live entertainment.

Acting Minister for Sport Geoff Lee confirmed the board of the new entity today with the directive to attract and win major events, and ensure our sporting and entertainment venues are accessible to NSW communities.

“We are embarking on an exciting transformation which will enable the one entity to get maximum returns with a strong, co-ordinated and streamlined approach to attracting events. I am delighted to welcome the latest appointments to the Board,” Mr Lee said.

“We have assembled some of the greatest minds in business and the community to secure blockbuster events and drive economic activity across the State.”

Former President of the Business Council of Australia Mr Tony Shepherd AO will be the Chair of the new entity. Chief Executive of the Sydney 2000 Olympic bid Mr Rod McGeoch AO will be the Deputy Chair.

Other board members are:

  • Ms Christine McLoughlin - Chairman of Suncorp Group Limited and co-founder and Director of the Minerva Network.
  • Mr John Quayle – Former Chief Executive of Australian and NSW Rugby League and General Manager of Venues and Precincts for the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games.
  • Ms Sally Loane – Board member of Destination NSW and first female director of Waratahs Rugby.
  • Mr Ian Hammond – Chairman of previous Venues NSW entity.
  • Mr Alan Jones AO - Former Deputy Chairman of the Australian Sports Commission. The distinguished Broadcaster is also a former Wallabies Coach.
  • Ms Erin Flaherty – Former Executive Director Infrastructure NSW and founding board member of Sydney Metro Authority.
  • Ms Amy Duggan – Former Matilda and board member of Football Federation Australia.
  • Mr Todd Greenberg – Former Chief Executive of NRL and Canterbury Bulldogs, and former General Manager of ANZ Stadium.
  • Ms Kim Curtain – Deputy Secretary, Jobs, Investment and Tourism at NSW Treasury.

“The mix we have achieved has a perfect blend of expertise in running the biggest and the best sport events and venues, through to former athletes as well as business minds who know how to execute the best deals for the people of NSW,” Mr Lee said.

“I’m also excited to have a strong representation of women on the Venues NSW board as we entice the best female sporting events on the planet into our stadia network.”

NSW Parliament has recently passed legislation to enable Venues NSW to be the single entity managing sport and entertainment venues in NSW.

The merging of the Sydney Cricket & Sports Ground Trust and Venues NSW will ensure the people of NSW make the most of their government’s substantial investment into these venues.

Board members will commence their terms from 1 December 2020.

  • Venues NSW
  • CommBank Stadium
  • McDonald Jones Homes Stadium
  • Newcastle Entertainment Centre
  • Accor Stadium
  • Sydney Cricket Ground
  • Sydney Football Stadium
  • WIN Sports & Entertainment Centre